1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gender identity questions

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Rawrr, Feb 1, 2016.

1. Rawrr

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    hi,
    In the past few months, I have started questioning my gender identity. Even though I know no one can tell me what my identity is, I'd like to have opinions and advice. The reason why I am confused is because I always knew what being trans meant, but I never considered it for myself until recently. I use to be in an all girls high school and I always felt different. When I graduated, I started hanging out mostly with guys and enjoyed it, as if I had finally found people I relate to. The thing is I never felt the urge to dress like a man, or even be one. I feel I relate more to men in general and feel more comfortable around them, like my thought process is much more typically masculine than feminine. but I don't have body or gender dysphoria. Growing up I was a tomboy, but I also remember being excited with the idea of having curves and breast one day. I have always enjoyed my sex life as a woman, but I don't feel I fit the role of a caring, maternal mother. I feel like I fit no gender, but I don't mind identifying as a woman or when others refer to me as a ''she''.
    Does identifying with men and feel like I think more like a man than woman mean I could be trans? Could it be possible that one day I develop some sort of dysphoria about my body because of this?
    Also, I have big anxiety issues and this is causing a lot of distress because I always had a very clear idea of who I was until I started questioning this and I'm having trouble dealing with this newly found ambiguity about myself. Maybe I'm just creating a problem where there isn't any as a result of this anxiety, like I have in the past.
    Any opinion on my case is greatly appreciated,
    Thank you!

#1 Rawrr, Feb 1, 2016