1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to be Nonbinary

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by CapQuestionmark, Feb 20, 2016.

1. CapQuestionmark

Now, I know that how to go about identifying oneself comes down to the individual, but I want some of others opinions, ideas, and especially stories.

I'll be starting a new school next year, far away from my small, conservative Southern town, and I'm hoping to make a good impression and feel as though I can finally truthfully represent on the outside who I am on the inside.

So any tips, tricks, or experience is very much welcomed!! ^.^

2. Delta

I'm a little new to being nonbinary, but I had a really similar experience when I was 14 and I moved out of my very devoutly Mormon hometown to a liberal college town 12 hours away, after having an awful time coming out as gay in the first town. My first advice would be to be genuine. If you do ever suffer from confusion about gender or sexuality etc., be honest about it. It's refreshing to hear people admitting to difficulty, and other people might come forward to share their difficulties with you. Things can change a lot, don't keep up a facade to save face (I tried to keep up a facade of bisexuality, but I really didn't actually like guys, so that died).

Next, find the group of people who makes you feel the best about your life and your self. It might be misfits, it might be popular people, it might be band kids, it could be people you never imagined yourself hanging out with. Be open to everyone, they can surprise you. Still follow your intuition and don't do things with people who make you concerned about their intentions or for your own safety.