1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Preferred Name Policies

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by E H Wildflower, Mar 24, 2016.

1. E H Wildflower

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    All but family
    I am currently a first-year student at my local community college. I recall that when I applied for admission there, I was asked my preferred name, but since that wasn't an issue for me at the time, I just gave them my legal name again.

Now that I have been using my new name for a few months, I finally had the courage to go into the administration office and ask the person at the records desk how I could have my preferred name changed on my records.

I started by asking "what can you tell me about the preferred name policy here?". The person at the desk looked a little confused and told me "We don't really have a preferred name policy". They were very nice and seemed like they genuinely wanted to help me, but ultimately I was told that although I might try contacting the Chancellor's office (which only deals with applications, so they would tell me to ask the records department at my college), the records department can't change my name in their computer without a court order.

Has anyone had this experience?
    I don't want to give up just yet, but I don't really know where to go from here.

#1 E H Wildflower, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
  2. AaronV

I had the same experience. I couldn't change my name at Uni without the final court order. (Tried showing them something from my therapist and endo and it didn't work either.) Once I had the order they changed the name in literally one minute.