1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What significance would gender identity have in a perfectly egalitarian world?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by LadyCoraline, Apr 4, 2016.

1. LadyCoraline

If people didn't treat you differently based on your gender identity - if society abandoned its gender-based preconceptions and expectations and simply treated people as individuals - would your gender identity still be important to you? Would you want to live in such a society, or is your gender role and others' perception of you a key part of your gender identity?

(Explanation: I'm still new to this way of thinking about gender, and am trying to put my feelings about my own gender into context. Does feeling happiest when one's gender is treated as immaterial imply agender?)

2. OutofZCloset

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone