1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

confused and having doubt

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by tom rose, Jul 5, 2016.

1. tom rose

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    tw: self harm/suicide mention

I recently came out to both my sisters - it went well with both of them, although i can tell one is more apprehensive than the other. i think she's just worried about me mostly and she knows nothing about trans issues. I've also been planning on going to this housing event to find new flatmates with my new name Tom (but i've never used it irl before so that's making me very anxious). as i'm starting a new college in september.

I feel really overwhelmed. a couple of days ago i was suicidal and self harming. I ended up in a and e but didn't tell my sisters (they are my primary family) as i didn't want to worry them. (I have anxiety and depression)

I'm having this feeling that i might not be trans and it's really scaring me. I generally experience a lot of self-doubt (about everything) including being trans but i've put this down to being highly insecure in nature due to a difficult upbringing. I don't know if these feelings are just because of my mental health being bad and being overwhelmed. or out of a fear of the way my sisters are going to see me. but i don't know whats going on in my head. before i went to a and e the other day I put a dress on and makeup to see how I felt (i'm ftm) and i felt really messed up and wrong about it and had to take it off straight away and that's when i self-harmed really bad. I felt that kinda confirmed to me being trans. so
    maybe i'm just overwhelmed with so many things i'm wishing so hard not to be trans because it's too much for me to deal with right now.