1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling Androgynous and Male?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by bornpurple, Jul 31, 2016.

1. bornpurple

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hello,

I'm new to the forums but not new to gender. I've been discovering my gender path for about ten years now and I'm pretty satisfied with my current journey, but it's brought up some new questions that I've had a hard time figuring out.

When I first came out as trans I came out as androgyne because I felt androgynous on the inside and though I knew I preferred to be seen as male I initially didn't want to transition hormonally/surgically. Skip forward several years after trying to pass as anything non-female and being unsuccessful, and I finally decided that I wanted to go on T in order to pass as male and also started going by he/him pronouns rather than they/them pronouns. Overall it feels right to me but there still feels like something's missing.

Since I've transitioned, I've realized that I don't exactly feel like the majority of guys a lot of times. I feel slightly alienated by the 'type of guy' that I'm supposed to be, especially since the majority of them are really masculine and straight and I'm not. But even when I interact with queer men I still feel like there's some distance between us. When I was younger I thought that maybe my androgyny could be explained by the fact that I liked men, so I was more open/fluid in my femininity. But then I realized that I just felt androgynous because I felt both feminine and masculine on the inside, not because I was gay, necessarily. I had to piece apart my sexuality and my gender feelings.

My body looks more 'right' to me in the mirror, but since transitioning I know for certain now that I don't want any surgeries. I'm actually fine with my body the way it is. I just wanted less curves/female fat distribution.