1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

It got better

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Mihael, Oct 14, 2016.

1. Mihael

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Update.

So for those who don't remember it, or parhabs I didn't say it clearly, my mom was shocked when I cut my hair short. My whole family was shocked. I have always been a good girl. A good student. I'm not the crazy type. She made hell about it, she told me I'm crazy, she was very uncomfortable about strangers thinking I'm her son, or the fact that I look and behave like my dad when she met him. She cried that I cut my hair off. She told me she feels like she lost her little daughter. (And found my boxer briefs - tragedy)

I mean she knew for a long time already that I have a somewhat manly style, and I've been dressing like that for a couple of years already. And that I tend to have manly pursuits. I have always been a quite "hardcore feminist" type. But I didn't look ambiguous.

Anyway, I managed to explain to my mom how I feel. I didn't use the word "trans", nor did I pull out that I feel like a man, but I managed to make her understand. How isolated I feel from people I identify and could make friends with. How normative dating disappoints me, frustrates me and basically turns me off. So... Now she's scolding me for for using eyeliner and nail varnish. :lol: And tells the other women in the family that I'm not going to grow my hair out again. So after giving me a very hard time (very), my mom turned out to be rather supportive.