1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name Dysphoria / Bigender / Having multiple names?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by EverDeer, Oct 21, 2016.

1. EverDeer

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So, recently I've been wondering if I would enjoy beginning to introduce myself to people more by my chosen name (which is the one I use on here, Kipp)

I've been practicing referring to myself as Kipp in my head for a few months or so now, and I've even begun to have dreams where people around me refer to me as that rather than my birth name, and I enjoy it. When I first was privately thinking of the name, I sort of jokingly humored the idea with my boyfriend, I think he picked up on it though and from time to time he'll call me that just sort of as a cute nickname.

Here's the thing though, whilst Kipp does give me gender euphoria, my birth name doesn't necessarily cause me much dysphoria. It doesn't cause me euphoria either, but I'm just sort of neutral to it. Also, I'm wondering if by changing my name it will make me want to later change my pronouns as well? (I still primarily use she/her) Since its a more masculine name...so I'm not sure if really I'm just keeping myself in the dark / choosing to stay neutral and indifferent or if I'm trying to force this too much? I have a habit of not knowing when I just don't care due to wanting to remain indifferent/neutral so that I don't cause conflict.