1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on Binding....?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by DJHale, Nov 28, 2016.

1. DJHale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm genderfluid and have been thinking about binding on the days that I feel more masculine.

I'm not sure what to do or use, as I have never done it before.

The other "question" is: should I do it?
    I really enjoy being more masculine, and I feel like it would be a good move towards really being who I am.

Are there any health concerns I should be aware of?

I'm so lost, but I'm excited. :icon_bigg:icon_bigg

2. Spot

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey, I'll try my best to answer your questions :grin:

To answer the question, 'should you bind': You should bind if you want to. I don't think there's really anything else to say. It's all up to you and what you feel comfortable with. I don't think it's great to do if you're sick with the flu or something, apparently it can increase the risk for pneumonia but I don't know how true that is. I wouldn't risk it though :lol: I generally don't want to bind when I'm sick anyway.

There are a few methods of binding I've heard of:
    1. I suppose the best option would be to get an actual binder but if you are unable to obtain one at the moment, it's not a big deal.

2. Sports bra method: Use tight-fitting sports bras (not too tight, about one size too small), place one on normally and put the other on backwards. I always wear baggy shirts about two or three sizes too big or layer my shirts on top of this.

3. Apparently you can also use neoprene back braces. Honestly, I tried neoprene and it didn't work out for me, you might have better luck.

4. Sports compression shirts. I don't have much to say, I've never tried it.