1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinions on name change

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by EverDeer, May 7, 2017.

1. EverDeer

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I see these threads all the time, but I feel kinda bad for making a new one just because I feel like it's such a short question... does anyone think it'd be neat if there was a master thread for people asking for opinions on names for themselves? Also maybe it could be like a big long list of lots of name suggestions? It might get a little chaotic tho...

Anyway! I first joined this website when I had been identifying as nonbinary officially for a few months, after toying around with the concept in my mind for almost a year, and I came here under a new name that I had considered using just to see if I would like the feel of it, so I could express my real self whilst maintaining somewhat anonymous... however I'm getting to the point in my life where it would be easy for me to sort of start fresh so I was beginning to seriously consider if I wanted to come out and go by this name in my everyday life too...

My birthname is Katie. I've never had a lot of dysphoria towards it, but I've never exactly felt super connected to it either, mostly just indifferent, or sometimes put-off when people would say stuff like "aww, that's why you're such a sweet person" when they'd hear my name... and anymore I really do occassionally forget that people are referring to me when they say my name, and I sometimes feel dissociated from it when I hear it, like I know it's me but I feel estranged from it.