1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Been questioning for over 3 years. I have to get to the bottom of this.

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by soycoffee, May 26, 2017.

1. soycoffee

I am 17 and AFAB, and I have been questioning my gender for over 3 years. And I'm fucking sick of it. I can not take this any more and it is exhausting me day after day.
    I just want to be happy with myself. I just don't know how to get there.
    I don't have the money to pursue ongoing counselling with a gender therapist.
    I'm obsessing over who I want to be seen as, if I need to change my body, or if I need to change how I VIEW my body instead.
    Do I want a male body or was I raised to be uncomfortable with having a female body?
    These are all questions just swirling around in my head.

I think I just desperately need to find out if I need to physically transition or not, because that's what's making this so difficult. I keep thinking, "I don't strongly yearn for a male body, and I can't be sure that I'd even be happy with having a male body, but what if it actually is the solution to this and I just don't know it?". The idea of having a penis is somewhat appealing but there's also the very real possibility that it would not feel right on me. I don't feel very comfortable with my female genitals, but I don't know how I would feel with male genitals. I might like it, I might not.
    I don't like my breasts and do wish I had a flatter chest, but I am not seriously considering surgery because I think it's very possible that in a few years, I might come to like them. Hell, I DID used to like my breasts and looked forward to having them when I was younger.
    I wish I had a more androgynous figure. I'm jealous of how "men's" clothing fits on my older brother.
    I don't know what gender I want to be seen as, if any.
    I don't know if I would take testosterone or not.