1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay for ten years...maybe?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Oldat26, May 14, 2013.

1. Oldat26

I'm not sure this posted the first time, so I apologize if this shows up as a double post...I'll delete it if it does.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to empty closets, just signed up.

I don't even know why I'm on here writing; I know that I should "man up" and just accept things the way they are...but I'm so confused, upset, and even despairing that I just feel the need to reach out and ask for some feedback.

I also don't know where to start with my story...so I guess I'll start with where I am now.

I don't know why or how or what, but for the second time in my life, I'm sitting here questioning my sexuality. I'm so angry and bitter that I'm here in this place all over again, but I am. Except this time, it's even worse than the first time...I'm questioning if I am gay anymore; indeed, if I ever really was gay.

I'm 26 years old, and came out of the closet at 16. I'd known I was gay since hitting puberty, maybe even before; men were all I was ever attracted to, all I'd ever fantasized about. I was deeply ashamed of that fact, though. I lived in terror that someone would find out, and I hoped and prayed that god would make me straight, that I would finally be "normal." I was so filled with self-loathing and fear, that I even attempted suicide. I swore I'd never ever tell anyone, but one day I just did. It was the best thing I'd ever done, although I didn't know it at the time. My coming out experience was a very depressing affair; there was even a few times where I questioned if I'd made a mistake, if I'd come out too soon, if I really was gay. There were a few other suicide attempts after the fact, but I overcame that depression and was able to live life as an out (if not necessarily proud) gay man.