1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new ftm needing adivce on several matters

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by myFTMtransition, Jun 14, 2013.

1. myFTMtransition

Hello, I am a ftm who is out to some family being mother, brothers, and grandparents and some friends and a few teachers at school. I have yet to start passing as male and am starting therapy in a few days and I need some advice on coming out to older, religious family members, deciding on a name and dealing with transitioning in school still.

For names I love cowboy names. For a little bit about me I am an artist, love the outdoors, summer nights, am an animal person, and want to live on a farm when I'm older. My birth initials are S.C. but I don't want to stay with them. I want a name that is not common. I was born in 1996.

As for school, I am going to create a gay-straight alliance at my school in my senior year, and my school is okay with accepting people in the LGB community that I know of. But the T is out of question since no one in my school, that I know of, is out as trans.

Do you have any advice? Thank you.

2. drwinchester

drwinchester Guest

Alright, just want to say, thank you for coming to EC. I'm a closeted transman myself, so while I'm afraid I can only offer advice from the confines of my little metaphorical wardrobe (gee, Narnia's quite lovely this time of year, I will admit...), I'm here if you have any questions.

So you'll be starting therapy and you're out to family- which is definitely a bigger step than I've ever had the courage to take.

Now as far as coming out goes, you are out to your immediate family, so you have back up when it comes to informing the more conservative members. Do you know if these more conservative members are transphobic? I'd advise caution- make sure you've got family on your side before you say anything to them.