1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Need Help Accepting Myself

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Skinny Pete, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Skinny Pete

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Warning, this post is a bit lengthy :slight_smile: I appreciate the time taken by anyone who reads it, though!

This is my first post here, or anywhere having to do with LGBT stuff. I've been self-identifying as hetero for all 29 years of my life with reoccurring same-sex feelings that I always dismissed.

The funny thing is I don't think I knew I was gay for sure until just recently... It's not that I don't like gays (I'm very pro-gay rights politically), it's just that I don't want to be one.

Before anybody gets offended bear in mind that the main reason I don't want to be one is because I have already been through so much ridicule and torment in my life so far for other issues that to pile on one more that will simply open the doors for people to hate on me more... it is a very scary proposition.

I don't know how bad it is because I know nothing of the culture. But when I Google self-hating and gays, all that comes up is information on homophobes. I never considered myself a homophobe. Yet I have been denying this part of myself all my life and hating myself for not being strong enough to overcome it.

Not because I think it's gross, but because it's going to end up defining me and preventing me from living a life free of prejudice. I'm a white, middle-aged male, so I have never existed within any social minority before.