1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Team work

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by OhSOCurious, Jul 29, 2013.

1. OhSOCurious

So at work (i'm a coder at a university) we were told to develop a website to replace libraries. So we were given a few weeks (maybe 4) to learn HTML, PHP, CSS, and MYSQL.
    In those weeks i studied hard and think i got alot of it down.

So now the final weeks are approaching and we were told to get into groups (that they chose) and begin assigning tasks (Main Coder for HTML,PHP,MYSQL and a Group Leader who knows all languages well enough to have the part.) and i was the only qualified for Group Leader in my group. The others, I noticed, had not taken full advantage of our learning sessions and know little to none about their objectives and how to achieve it. Today was our first day coding and I got pretty frustrated with this one group member. This group member knew NOTHING about what he was doing, and was given the EASIEST language. I eventually asked that group member to start creating the power point while i took his job. As the day progressed this group member gave me ridiculous attitude when ever i asked how far he got. It was so disrespectful i felt ashamed for his mother. The other two group members were in and out between gaming and coding and very little work was done, other than me... who created 5 pages and even styled them using one of the other group member's code.
    The particular group member that gave me trouble today didn't realized that i had to write a report today to our mentors (bosses) on our groups progress. And if it's negative, they dock hours off according to severity.
    I'm slightly happy that the group member got what he deserved but i still want to get this project done.... How can i get my group to participate so we can finish this by Thursday (due date)?