1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

piercings in the medical field??

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Odradek, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Odradek

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi! I'm a freshman at Wellesley college and I plan on going into the medical field. I also have four ear piercings (both lobes and both helixes). Currently I wear large, colorful jewelry, but I plan on wearing simple studs when I will scrub up. My question is; do you think it is inappropriate/unprofessional for doctors to have piercings other than earlobes? I am thinking of piercing my nose to wear a ring, and when I scrub up I would wear a clear stud. I have done some research and there are a lot of conflicting ideas about facial and ear piercings.

What do you think? Would you trust a neurologist with a little (very subtle) metal?

(ps. I also have four tattoos but they are all on the foot/ankle area and thus would be covered. )

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You're asking the wrong guy. 98% of my friends have ink, and at least that many have piercings. When I meet somebody without ink or piercings, it's like meeting someone from another world. And yes, both my doctor and dentist have both piercings and tats. :slight_smile:

Lex

3. Carbine