1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay teacher

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by ohioguy05, Aug 8, 2013.

1. ohioguy05

So, if you've been following any of my posts, you know that I am a teacher in Ohio, in a school district, which is...ummm...rather rural. I love teaching at that school, don't want to move to another district, have a supportive partner, and I don't want to lose all of this. The thing is that I think it would be very bad if it were discovered that I was gay. You know... all of the parents grabbing their pitchforks and storming the office holding signs about how "Jesus hates gays" and all of that fun stuff that we saw back in the 1960's with race.

Let me say from the top that I do NOT and will NOT make my sexual identity known to students, parents, or other teachers. I will NOT teach lessons celebrating gay tolerance (though goodness knows my gay students probably need it), celebrate gay history month, or celebrate the day of silence. I just want to teach... like any straight teacher would. While at school, that is my job...not to make a political statement.

Keeping my relationship a secret from the school might be harder than I anticipated. I can only avoid the other teachers' questions about if I found a date for the weekend and when I am going to settle down with a nice girl for so long... Undoubtably my boyfriend and I will be seen at a restaurant together or a friend of a friend of a friend will let something slip that will reach the ears of the parents in my district. That is why I want to be PROACTIVE.