1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

At a Crossroads...

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by deepinthesouth, Aug 29, 2013.

1. deepinthesouth

I am a college student that, as my username implies, lives in the Southern part of the US. For years I have struggled with questions regarding my sexual identity. I have been attracted to other men for as long as I can remember (earliest I can remember is 5 years old.) My attraction intensified as I grew into my teenaged years, but seeing as I live in the South I was not really in an environment where I could explore my attraction openly.

I have had a few sexual experiences with men since I became of age, but all of them have left me feeling unsatisfied and empty...almost as if I had done something wrong. I find this troubling as when most people talk about sex they seem to describe it as the most wonderful thing in the world.

This dissatisfaction prompted me to look to religion a bit more which led me back to the Catholic faith as well as their apostolate for people with same sex attraction Courage. That is actually the reason I'm here. I have gotten a lot of feedback from that community stating that I need to abstain from any kind of sexual relationship and instead focus on building strong friendships to find meaning in my life and retain my salvation. I have found this difficult to reconcile with my very high sex drive. I'm sure that I could do it, but I think that denying myself any kind of sexual pleasure would take its toll on me. The Catholic community refers to this difficulty and sacrifice as the "cross I have to bare."