1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When did things become "better?"

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Hunna, Oct 14, 2013.

1. Hunna

Hello EC! I'm a college freshman and I've recently began coming out. It's been almost a month since I told my first person. Since then, I've told like ten people including my family. However I come from a small town and everyone found out all at once before I was completely comfortable with my own sexuality. This made me scared to come out to people up in college and now I sort of feel like I'm living a double life... AGAIN... It's been a really weird month for me but I'm slowly becoming more and more comfortable. I know this is who I am but it just moved a little too fast for me and it was really out of my control :/ So I'm just waiting for everything to die down. I'd love to hear your personal stories and anything that helped you over come these first rough months. Thanks a ton :smilewave

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey Hunna and welcome to EC!

Well, the cat is out of the bag, and I suspect you know how difficult it can be to herd cats!

This will take time, so instead of worrying about it, why not have a little fun with the ambiguity?!

3. I came out after my second year of college, just before I transferred to a new school.

Pretty soon, my whole family new, my high school friends knew, etc. That was all kinda overwhelming for me and I was not prepared to do the whole 'coming out' thing and have all those serious talks with people again after that whole business with all the people I already knew.