1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apathy in the real world

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by LaplaceScramble, Oct 17, 2013.

1. LaplaceScramble

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I doubt I'm the only one who's like this, I'd like to think I am but I know that's just not true, but why is it that I am completely apathetic to the real people and real situations in my life, yet I have no problem empathizing with fiction characters?

I've thought maybe it's because writers make it very clear what is happening to the person and why, while real life that's often left uncertain. But even when someone is crying or laughing, or doing something where it is obviously indicative of a particular emotion, I just imitate them because I never know the 'right' emotion to show.

I've a fuckton (maybe a shitload, I'm not too good with measurements) of mental issues so maybe it's caused by one of those, but I just want to figure out why this is a thing.

2. Abbra

Is it possible that you have aspergers? I know that people with that particular disorder can potentially have problems with reading and empathizing with others, especially when the emotions are unclear.

3. Argentwing

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I think you've got yourself right already OP. You care about fictional characters because you know them. Their motivations are clear for one, and the fact should not be ignored that they were designed from the beginning to be entertaining. The author wants you to care about them, so will make them as likable (or if it's an antagonist/anti-hero, deliciously evil) as possible.