1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

From Tin Man to Scarecrow

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by method, Oct 17, 2013.

1. method

'Cause I traded in my heart just to have brain.

I had a really good conversation with my brother the other day but he made a comment that really stopped me in my tracks.

"I find it really sad that you've closed off your heart and that you don't seem to feel anything. You have to justify everything through cold, calculative reason."

He was absolutely right, and that scared the hell out of me.

I didn't actually realise it, but after reflection, I did remember that I had a softer heart - at least until my late teenage years. But it's definitely changed.

I just don't know what has caused me to change though. Was it because I repressed my sexuality? Was it because I had to be the man of the house after my dad passed? Was it because I studied philosophy? Is it because I haven't had a romantic relationship yet?

I still feel emotions, but only on a very shallow level. For that I feel like a bit of a fraudulent human being, and it frustrates me because I'm not sure how to change that. I value rationality, but I think there needs to be some feeling too. Does anyone have ideas of how I can find my heart again?

2. redneck

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Holy crap dude get out of my head. Other than the conversation with the brother part this sounds like something I could have writen.