1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jobs and References

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by drwinchester, Oct 17, 2013.

1. drwinchester

drwinchester Guest

At the moment, as businesses hunt for seasonal workers, I'm working on applying to whatever jobs I can get my hands on. I have no prior work experience, no volunteering. Which puts me at a disadvantage, especially since I don't have any references. Homeschooled as well. I've heard of people who are able to list teachers and professors as references but certainly can't list my mother as reference, can I? :lol:

Do I need to have references and if not, does it put me at a serious disadvantage? Thanks.

2. MrAllMonday

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    You need references for most jobs. You cannot list your friends/family members as reference.

What you can do is do some sort of training course relevant to the field you want a job in. Then after you complete that course you can ask your instructor if he or she can give you a reference.

I know some people got a job by doing a work trial placement. This basically involves working for free for approximately a week without getting paid. If you are good at the job you will be hired. Even if you don't get hired you can put this down as some sort of work experience.

If I was you I would get any job that your capable of doing. Any experience is better than nothing. Try volunteering if it is too hard to get a job...

3. penguin machine