1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Get drunk, confront the world.

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Joey4, Oct 19, 2013.

1. Joey4

Anytime I drink, I'm ready to be done with being in the closet and get this whole thing over with. I sober up and realize what a huge mistake it would've been. When does one self meet the other?

2. Skov

I would say that coming out drunk is generally not a great idea. It's nice to have some liquid confidence, but I think it works out better if all parties involved are sober

3. palimpsest

Joey4, that is one of the best put questions I've seen all day. When does one self meet the other? It seems like I've been asking myself that question nearly constantly for the last four months. When do I get to be a unified whole?

Don't know that I have your answer. For me, right now tonight, I crossed some threshold between last night and tonight, and I'm nearly there. One last major loose screw to work out for myself before I start a massive campaign to introduce myself to the world at large.

Which is probably the only advice I can give you. You have to be ready. Whatever that means to you, whatever you've got to face first. Something to let go. Prepare your courage. Plan the talk and the strategy. One self meets the other self when there is really only one left. Once you are so OK with you, that that is the only one left. He sounds like he's ready in principle, you've just got to figure out what is really standing in his way. Then, then perhaps, you can be that unified whole.

4. Sully

Okay, I'll be honest, coming out drunk is friggen great! IME it's always been fine. And look,you're 27 so most likely independent. What's the worry if you and a few good friends are drunk and you blurt it out?

5. confused1234

I came out to 12 people before I ever did it sober, and I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with coming out while drunk.