1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I've been keeping this secret for 7 years

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by CarmenSandiego, Oct 29, 2013.

1. CarmenSandiego

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I'm caught in this weird soap opera thing, and for the sake of clarity I'll start at the beginning.
    I've been in love with a friend of mine, friend A, for upwards seven years. We were in middle school then, a group of three girls. At one point, another close friend, friend B, revealed in front of friend A that she had feelings for me--in which friend A intervened and said, "You don't really like her, you're confusing love for feelings of extreme friendship".
    Well.
    Needless to say, I didn't come out to her, and I convinced myself for a long time that what I felt really WAS just friendship. Eventually we all moved away and went on with our lives, but we stayed in contact. I met a boy, dated him, then met another one who I've been in a relationship with for two years.
    This is where it gets messy.
    Within the past year, I've confronted something I've always sort of known: I AM in love with her, and never stopped. I thought just being there for her was enough, but it's not. Unable to take it anymore, I confided recently in friend B, only to learn that she's actually been in love with ME for just as long. I haven't told any of this to my boyfriend. Many people assume that I'm straight, but the only one who knows otherwise is friend B, and I feel awful in the first place for telling her because I know that I can't return her feelings. I want to confess to friend A, just to get it out, but if it happens, it needs to happen in person. I'm at a loss. I feel so frustrated and hopeless that I've started to take it out on my boyfriend, which is despicable.