1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Heavy uni/college course load

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Jeneric, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Jeneric

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    So I just picked my subjects for semester one next year. I ended up picking 5 courses.

I just wanted some advice on this because I don't know *if I should drop one or keep them all. This is the 3rd time I've started a uni degree. I've struggled with heavy workloads. Each time in the past though, I was working part time, very sick and/or living out of home. Now I'm not working, living at home and feeling healthier.

Does anyone have any advice? Have you completed big course loads just fine?

#1 Jeneric, Dec 3, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  2. Zeevie

I'm in my last year of a uni degree course at the moment and while I admit it hasn't been a walk in the park, I haven't let it consume me as I might have done in the past. I too struggled with finding the right course and balancing work loads due to my disability. But, I find that some decent time management and trying to keep my stress levels low have helped. It's great that you're doing better and feeling healthier :slight_smile: I think people can take their health for granted when embarking on a new chapter in their life.

I wish you all the best.

---------- Post added 3rd Dec 2013 at 08:16 PM ----------

Oh! And also a big problem for me was/is procrastination. I'm doing it right now in fact. Try and stay focused when you need to or your work can suffer. Work hard then play hard :wink:

3. You're doing part of what I would recommend already! If you can afford it, definitely live at home and work the least amount possible--check!

Five courses is a lot, but not unmanageable. A few things I have found work for me: