1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Church Today, it went well but I am still nervous

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by phoenix89, Dec 15, 2013.

1. phoenix89

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I go to church, youth group and bible study regularly when I am at school, I am a grad student. Every Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday and every other Tuesday are dedicated to different church events. But at home it is entirely different.

Today(Sunday) was the first time since my Mom's funeral on January 28 that I have gone to my home church, and that was the first time in nearly a year. I have not felt ready to go, and I have actually been terrified of going. I did not want to have a breakdown like I have had multiple times at the church at school and at youth group. Today went really well though. I made it though the entire service with without crying, I was quite happy about this. But at the same time, there is a lot running through my mind.

I have not had the best relationship with this church. I actually have a whole story written out about issues that I have had to face with church. It was awesome to go again but I am scared that things will be like how they used to be, and I can't go through that again. I quit the church for awhile, came back, tried to quit again, but since I was going to go away for college it didn't happen, and I limited my church attendance to just the summers, with eventually not even doing that. Then a few years ago, the Sunday school class was split into different sections and I made it though one class, in the new section, where I spent the entire time arguing with the Sunday School teacher about "homosexuality and the Bible", and I swore to never go back to her class and I never did. This was one of the reason why I completely quit going again.