1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worried Physics major

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by TeePee, Dec 17, 2013.

1. TeePee

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello. I've posted about how excited i'd been about going to college. I'm doing a degree program i love but there's one issue. The first semester just came to a close, but my main worry is out of the 8 courses i'm taking, i think i might have failed 3. Even those i might have passed, i don't think my grades were that great. It's not that the exams were super difficult but i did not study much as i had a job that was very demanding that i had very little time left for anything else. You see, i could have left the job but i needed it for my tuition and transport money. My main worry is, there's a lot of competition out there and i know that with a physics degree i'm elligible for a masters in aeronautics or aerospace engineering...where my main passion lies. Say, i perform great in the upcoming semesters (3 semesters left before the practical, industrial placement part of the program), will my first semester grades and that having supplemented some of the courses negatively affect future academic or job prospects?

2. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I would suggest talking to your academic advisor. I know that at my college, they allow freshmen and sophomores to retake courses if they did not do well in them. Then the bad grades can be replaced. Also, they might be able to help you balance your course load with your work load.

3. Skov

I'm going to second you talking to your academic adviser. I would also maybe consider taking less classes. I don't know how your school works, but 8 classes would be at least 24 credits at my school which would be impossible for any STEM field.

4. Randy

Gender Pronoun:
    He