1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Life and a career?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Absol, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Absol

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    To start, ever since I graduated from high school, I've struggled trying to decided on a career. I've went from Herpetologist to video game designer, and nothing has worked out. After going to a community college for 3 years and having nothing to show for it, I decided to take a year off to try to figure things out. In that year, well, I didn't figure anything out and when the time to sign up for classes came, I pressured myself into picking something and as you can guess, it didn't work out. So here I am, almost twenty-five years old and I've done nothing with my life. This has caused me to fall into a deep depression accompanied by some suicidal thoughts; I've never felt this bad in my entire life. Just so many opportunities wasted and chances missed...

There is a silver lining, though. I think I might have an ideal for what I want to do and it's that I want to be a writer, to be more specific, I want to write a novel. Writing has always been my strongest feature, but as silly as it sounds, I didn't know what I want to do with it and I took it more as a hobby, but it's something I truly love. I do have several ideals and I'm thinking about swinging them by a really good friend(he's actually the first person I came out to) of mine, who is a successful playwright, and see what he thinks.

Now why have I told you this? Well, I sort of want to know if I'm being realistic and if I can really do this, or if I'm just setting myself for failure once again? Being a writer isn't a concrete profession and it takes a lot of sacrifices, but I honestly have very little sacrifice. So what do you think?

#1 Absol, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  2. sanguine