1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Psych/Sociology Major, Gender Identity Focus?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Alex94, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Alex94

Alex94 Guest

Okay so I am a freshman at the community college and I am majoring in liberal arts right now (only because they don't have Psych/Sociology as majors). I am looking into transferring to a 4 year school to double major after I finish my 2 years here but I was wondering if I could focus on gender identity? I want to give back to the community that has helped me so much by counseling people with gender dysphoria or those who are questioning. Is it possible to cater my major to focus more on that? I would ask my student advisor but like I said, they don't have Psych/Sociology as majors.

2. IsThisAName

Hi! Do you have any specific 4 year universities in mind? It all depends on which school you attend. Some schools do have gender studies as a major, but I'm a psych major and from what I've seen, psych degrees are generally focused on general psychology or human services psychology, but I haven't seen any gender studies focused psych degrees (I don't know much about sociology so I can't speak for that). So if you are able to find a school that has gender studies as a major, then using that as a major with psychology or sociology is an option.

Another thing, I don't know if you are planning on attending graduate school to get your Masters or PhD, but it's a lot easier to study something more focused like that in graduate school. Like I said, psych degrees are usually more general in undergrad, but there are tons of areas that you can study in graduate school and I know for a fact that there are gender studies PhD programs out there if that interests you. Hope this helped a little!

3. Alex94

Alex94 Guest

That did help, thank you. :slight_smile: