1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Singing Practice Advice

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Kabuki, Apr 24, 2014.

1. Kabuki

Hey :smilewave I wanted to ask if anyone can give me a few advice, be it from videos or written info, on how to improve my voice. I used to be part of choir in middle school but since then I haven't practice or developed my voice. I know some thing about vocalization, but I'm more concerned on the breathing part. I have asthma(not severe) and I always run out of air too fast, I also want to know ways to strengthen my diaphragm muscle.

Any advice is welcomed :thumbsup:

2. CharlsOn

CharlsOn Guest

To warm up your voice before singing i think. But I'm no expert:grin:

3. Kabuki

I do that most of the time, I know about it :lol: Thanks for answering anyways, this might help other who maybe don't know anything at all. (*hug*)

4. Holdingb

Holdingb Guest

Well, posture is very important, you want to stand up/ sit up as straight as possible, do not bend your knees if you are standing, and do not cross your arms as it constricts your chest cavity killing your breath support...

Breath Support: Be taking full, deep breaths, and use it to breathe out the words you are singing. As stated before- posture is important.

Tall Vowels: Open up your mouth more as you speak so you can pronounce words with a better and crisper sound

And then it all comes down to practice and how consistent you are with your singing, and or your health i.e. sore throats, phlegm, etc.
    :3

5. Kabuki

Do you know any breathing exercises to keep longer notes? You know, to acquire more air capacity.

6. helperman

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning