1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is it ok to not go to this event, or will i look bad?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Eisenhower, Apr 27, 2014.

1. Eisenhower

Eisenhower Guest

im a sophomore in high school and my school is having a 'secret assembly' (which isn't so secret actually) and what they do i an awards ceremony for little things. they give awards for like, perfect attendance, being student of the week, having above a 3.8 for the whole year. so its not a big awards ceremony. the thing is, you don't know if you get an award or not, you find out when your name is called. and its in our auditorium, there is a stage and rows of seats that go up. probably about 600 seats. and they will do it one grade level at a time, and there are about 500-600 students per grade. so I'm going to have to walk up on stage in front of about 600 people all in my grade level and get an award.

i have horrible anxiety and worry a lot. i like to know what is happening exactly to feel ok. they would have to let me know if I'm going to get called, where i have to go exactly and everything. this has no notices or anything. they didn't want anybody to even know about the assembly, the whole point of it being called 'secret assembly' (but word got out obviously)

i was elected to NHS and i had to do an induction ceremony on the same stage and the whole auditorium was packed full, and they didn't give us any information about what we were doing until 5 minutes before the induction. (all we did was walk across the stage and get an award paper) but that was hard for me because I'm so scared and like to know whats going to happen far in advance. the only reason i dod that is because i would look horrible not going. i mean, its NHS, you pretty much have to go, people wouldn't think well of you if you decided not to go.

i was shaking in my boots the whole time, and scared. but i did it.