1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting a job

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Rosepetal, May 25, 2014.

1. Rosepetal

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have applied to chain stores and none of them have hired me bc I have no work experience. How am I going to job experience when they don't hire and train employees?

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Walmart, Target, and fast food restaurants are often starting places for people with no work experience. I'd suggest trying there.

3. stocking

stocking Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Another thing to is you can do volunteer work for a while and put that down as work experience too but I agree with chip those places are more likely to hire

4. Kaiser

Kaiser Guest

I was able to get a job at Wal-Mart, a few years ago, by thinking outside the box. When I would approach them, they told me to go to their application machine. I did this, and filled out their form. I was told that the application stays in the system for 3 months, and left it at that.

I gave them 48 hours, then called to check on my application. I was told it hadn't been looked at.

Fine.

Another 48 hours, I call again. Same thing.

Fine.

Another 48 hours, I call once more. Same thing again.

Fine.