1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Club

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by hoodie boy, Jun 23, 2014.

1. hoodie boy

I'm a college freshman, and I recently discovered that my school has a LGTB Pride club. I'm in the closet, but I'm fairly interested in the idea of meeting other gay people my age. There's a club meeting this week, but I'm nervous about attending. Does anyone have any experience with Pride clubs that they'd be willing to share? Should I go to the meeting?

2. LonestarConnie

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Go to the club. Student organizations are a wonderful thing that can help you with your college experience. It'll get you to meet new people outside classes, get involved with campus/organization activities and an excellent way to experience personal growth.

I was involved with College Democrats on my Campus and also Bobcat Equality Alliance.

Also Allies at Texas State. (See if your campus has an Allies program of sorts).

Some meetings include ice breakers for members to get to know each other. And then there's regular business meetings.

Student organizations can help you academically and professionally.

#2 LonestarConnie, Jun 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
  3. hoodie boy

Thanks for the advice. I'm thinking about bringing a close friend with me to help with my anxiety.

4. LonestarConnie

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
  5. Meadowlark17

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    find out what room it will be held in. go in before the meeting hide in the closet wait until during the meeting and come out of the closet and sit down like nothing ever happened

6. RainbowGreen

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people