1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seven Degrees of Separation

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by TheStormInside, Jul 2, 2014.

1. TheStormInside

I'm just so tired of feeling so different from everyone else. I am an oddball and a misfit in most aspects of life. Sometimes I revel in the fact, but sometimes I get really down. I feel isolated, weird, and like no one could ever grasp or appreciate me, and why would they want to? I have mental and physical illness, I have the interests and social skills of a 12 year old. I am a good artist, but not nearly so prodigious that my talent precedes my failings. And now I'm finally recognizing that even my sexual preferences are outside the "norm."

Coming to terms with my sexuality has been really hard because it's just one more thing about me that makes me different from everyone else. My future is likely not going to be the norm. I am starting to realize that it's likely I'm never going to be the person others want me to be, no matter how hard I try. It's just not going to work. I hate being such a disappointment. I hate not understanding what the other women around me are talking about when it comes to attraction. And I'm always so far off on my own path I feel like I'm lost in the woods, and no one even knows how to follow, or to lead me back. I have friends who will likely accept me, but I feel like they'll never really understand me. I should appreciate how open minded they are, but at the moment all I can think is, if I can't understand myself how can I possibly expect others to do so?