1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with work

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by drwinchester, Sep 6, 2014.

1. drwinchester

drwinchester Guest

A few months ago, in early June, I got my first official job with an inventory company. Hours were never great and it's definitely not the kind of job you get into for a steady income- but it worked because I'm a full time student and happened to take summer term off so I could work.

I had to apply as female, which I hated but I haven't changed anything legally so it kinda had to be done. But I made it clear upon employment that I had a different name I preferred and I was trans- which my hiring manager indicated she was okay with making a few accomodations (like letting me use my preferred name on ID's).

It was all good when I start working. It wasn't the best work, kind of monotonous and tedious but I didn't mind- I needed the money. I didn't mind the late shifts or no lunch breaks either. First job after all. I wasn't expecting better.

But then, it started happening. I'd been passing okay at work but then my supervisors, including the one who'd hired me, insistently misgendered me when they hadn't really before. Other coworkers caught on and I stopped being passable. Our clients at the retail locations would be confused.

I found my birth name, with my preferred name in parentheses besides it, being listed on schedule sheets and other documents available to all employees. But no one said anything to me so I tried to ignore it.

I wasn't receiving many hours anyway. Co workers I'd gotten hired with would go on and on about all the stores they were doing that week. All I had was maybe one, two stores a week if even.

But my emails were still being returned and supervisors were still calling so it was okay.