1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I Join GSA?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Artistic Ferret, Sep 22, 2014.

1. I am a freshman in high school and my school has a GSA. I really do want to be a part of it and it might actually help me meet new people. My school seems very accepting I always seem to notice lots of LGBTQ kids and I know that although I may face some criticism at least I can be myself. So the problem isn't school it's my overly religious family. My mom always wants to know where I am at all times so if I joined GSA I would most likely end up outed. It's a great opportunity but I don't know if it's worth the risk. She would hate me I hear her negative views on LGBTQ topics all the time it really sucks but GSA seems like an outlet. Any advice I need help?

2. That's a tough situation to be in. :frowning2:

I'm not a member of my school's GSA, but when I went to a meeting last year, discretion was emphasized. People could tell their parents that they were joining some thing called "not in our school" or something like that, which was advertised as an anti-bullying group. This way, kids could get their parents' approval for meetings while still being able to be closeted. Is this the way your GSA works? Ask around. I'm sure they have prevention methods in place so that closeted kids don't get outed to unaccepting parents.

3. Celatus

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Sucks man but at least there's actual gay or bi people in your GSA. Mine consists of "straight" people. Lol yeah no one has the freaking guts to admit anything to anyone. I'm going to go there and just surprise the shit out of people :grin:
    I mean it's gotta happen sometime better now than later, I just hope it doesn't become one of those terrible rumors.