1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

For Native Spanish Speakers

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Margot, Oct 14, 2014.

1. Margot

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi,

I've been chatting with this girl for 5 months already. We both live in two different continents and have a 10 year age gap, me being older. She was upfront about having a gf of two years and even if they both live in the same country, since they live far away from each other, they only see eachother once a month. I like her a lot and I know she does like me too.

She keeps telling me Te Quiero Mucho ... everytime. I would like to know whether this phrase if thrown around freely in any Spanish speaking country. I just have a hard time understanding whether if what we have is more than a friendship or more than that. We are on eachother's facebook.

2. Rawrzilla

Rawrzilla Guest

Is not that uncommon to say that among close friends, and women specially feel very comfortable throwing "te quieros"s around.

3. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The Spanish idiomatic "Te quiero", literally "I want you" is actually a very interesting (and honest!) way of saying "I love you". Adding "mucho" simply means "I love you very much", of course!

No, it is NOT thrown around all that casually, it really does refer to a either a romantic or familial attachment.

4. Rawrzilla

Rawrzilla Guest