1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to do when you can't find community...

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by nm89, Oct 28, 2014.

1. nm89

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Does anyone have advice as to how to find lgbt community? Specifically a lesbian community. I left the closet a year ago and it's been pure hell. I'm a college student and haven't found any lesbian community. My university has one of the top ranked lgbt centers, but in actuality it's kind of a depressing dump full of butches. Any advice? I've been very very depressed and alone recently and really don't know how much more I can take.

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Another thread addressed this topic when I was asking a similar question. I was directed to looking into gay sports leagues in my area. And sure enough, there was tions to choose from.

3. Really

Have you googled "city lesbian meetup"? Or just "city lesbians"?

You might also want to rethink your opinion on the university lgbt centre. You can't judge people by how they look and I suspect butch is simply a style for many women not a reflection of their personality - whatever that would be. Get involved and help organize events that would attract people whose interests more closely match yours. And maybe someone more up your alley will stop by to check things out and if you're not there, you won't meet them.

When I was at university I hung out at a sort of clubhouse that was revolting - I mean the building itself - and whose paid leader grossed me out - hygeine-wise (see, it was terrible) but I made a few quality friends there and even got some help for a calculus class I was taking that was invaluable. So, see? Something good can come out of a "dump".

4. jay777

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian