1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't even know where to start (fitness)

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Celatus, Dec 2, 2014.

1. Celatus

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So I'm a lazy skinny guy who was never motivated or confident enough to go to the gym or get in shape. But I feel like it would be great to at least try...only problem is that I have no idea where to start. I'm a complete and pitiful novice at fitness in general. Nerdy kids who sucked at sports will understand this xD. Any advice on where the heck to start working out? I mean I really sincerely want to get in shape and look better but I just find the whole endeavor confusing and hard. For people that have played sports or trained since childhood this isn't really a problem...but for scrawny meh guys like me...it seems so complicated. I find it difficult to consistently commit to exercise because I'm not even sure if I will get decent results, let alone plan out how to progress. Does anybody know of a legitimate way to gain some muscle mass and get in shape without spending a large amount of time and money? I have no clue where to start...

2. mangotree

I guess most people who want to gain muscle start by joining (or buying) a gym.
    When you join, one of the staff members will normally take you through the weights machines to show you how to use them safely.
    After that, you could either get a Personal Trainer or start your own exercise regime.

If you choose the latter ... take it slowly ...
    Find 2 or 3 machines that don't cause you any discomfort. This will ensure that you don't start hating the gym after a while.
    Spened about half an hour using those machines.
    When you're finished - if your gym has one - go for a swim or sit in the sauna, steam room or jacuzzi.