1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by ProudOfWhoIAM, Mar 7, 2015.

1. ProudOfWhoIAM

Hello everyone....
    I'm new to this and i was wondering if there is a post about how to stop yourself harming?

2. Aro

Aro

Hello and welcome to EC. I wish it were under better circumstances that you are joining. The best resource area to check would be General Help. There have been topics there. As for what I can recommend on the spot as someone who has also struggled quite a bit with hurting themselves is that you need to remind yourself that it isn't worth it. If you can, surround yourself with people who care about you, and if there is someone that you can trust, give them the object that you rely on to cause harm for safe-keeping while you are feeling weak.

Talking always helps. There is no shame in it. Find people who understand or even call a help line if you don't have anyone. It can be intimidating, but having someone to occupy you when you crave it is good. You can also try doing something that you love, though I don't recommend getting too far absorbed into something because it often doesn't help and makes you want to be alone.

If you need to talk, please don't hesitate to contact me. Again, welcome, and I hope that you feel better soon.

3. ProudOfWhoIAM

Thank you so much for your kind words Aro, means alot, i suffer with it and im currently trying to help my bf stop also.
    So atm im so confused.
    I have brlliant support from all my close family and friends and i couldnt feel any better.

4. Aro

Aro

You're welcome, of course! I know how difficult it is to deal with it yourself and also watch someone else suffering. It's hard to know what to do or to say. But it's good to hear that your close family and friends are there to support you, and hopefully your boyfriend as well. c: What are you confused about? What to do?