1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Joining a LGBT group. So nervous

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by JackAttack, Mar 8, 2015.

1. JackAttack

JackAttack Guest

I aim to start playing football with this LGBT football team next week but I am so nervous. Im only out to my family and im still scared of people knowing that im gay, even if they are gay too for some reason. Im having doubts about going but I do want to meet new people and to play more football. Its only a kick about once a week. It just feels like a massive step and im not very good at leaving my comfort zone as im not the most social of people.

Has anyone else had any nerves similar to this about joining a LGBT group?

2. bingostring

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Its a great thing to do - to widen your social circles like this.
    Every time you get butterflies.. see it as a GOOD thing and natural

Once you're out there kicking the ball the nerves will disappear!

3. ChameleonSoul

My best advice would be to just go for it. It's not like they'll judge you for being gay. You already have one thing in common so just go from there when it comes to meeting everyone. And besides, every person there has felt the same anxiety that you feel now when joining some sort of LGBT group. I'm sure they'll be considerate of that.

4. Really

Totally and completely. I joined meetup for a lesbian social group. Getting accepted was a riggermarol and maybe because of that, I'm even more antsy about going to any of their events.