1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High school and bipolar disorder

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by MyLittleWorld, Mar 17, 2015.

1. MyLittleWorld

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    This disorder effected my grades, memory, thinking, and my meds ofcourse have some side effects too... The biggest problem is attendance. When I get depressed, I can't get up. Then, I don't know what to say to school, even though a few teachers know that my health is not good. I was a really good student, but now, it seems like everything is going down. No light in the end of the tunnel. I have to bring explanations for missed lessons to my school, and I miss A LOT of school, but I'm trying to catch up.

I am thinking about talking to my teachers about this, and finding something that will work for me. I don't want to be home schooled. I have to find a way... because, I want to have a future.

Does anyone have any advice? It would really really help.

2. Gallatin

Talk to the teachers. Assuming they're decent, they should recognize a student who shows a true desire to succeed. That is what you should impress upon them - that you recognize the value in education, and that despite the fact that you've had issues that have interfered in that, you desperately want to succeed and are willing to do just about whatever's necessary.

3. MyLittleWorld

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Thanks for answering...