1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by etcetera, Mar 18, 2015.

1. etcetera

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    So I've been feeling down for a while. More and more I feel like I'm messed up, and I reckon I need help. I tried to get an appointment with the uni councilling service, but have to wait 3 weeks due to cut backs. I'm missing lectures and forgetting deadlines. Having completely lost interest in what I'm studying, I reckon I'm gonna score really poorly in the Summer exams (in approx 6 weeks). I know I need help, but I don't feel I can talk to friends or family, and there's no local service that I can use. I can't afford to drop out of college, but I'm not sure if I'll be able to stay in my course if I don't do something soon.

2. MapleBrownSugar

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Listen, because I was in your /exact/ shoes no more than four months ago. I started suffering just like how you described after mid-terms of my first year second semester. I only did poorly in two of my 5 classes, but it shook me up since I was used to better grades. I started suffering from anxiety, and as I started into second year, living on my own and cooking for myself, it only got worse. I'd skip meals, skip classes, skip outings with friends, by third year, this past fall, I was messed up pretty bad. I started self harming, stupid rule breaking, I cried myself to sleep because I couldn't stop what was happening to me, I felt trapped because I felt like I couldn't quit school, I didn't know who to talk to or what to talk about, I was confused with who I wanted to be, I was lonely, I was scared.