1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Isolated!

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by katieklass, Apr 1, 2015.

1. katieklass

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi i'm Katie, I'm new to this, this is the first time I have ever told anybody about my sexuality , so I apologize for the awkwardness. I am 17 and a lesbian. (I don't know if you recognize how hard that that was to type.. but it was.)

I live in a small rural town where there is no form of LGBT community despite infrequent annual events which I can never go to because my dad is on the police force and I am scared of someone he works with recognizing me and telling him... which I fear would ruin my chances of university.

I do not know a single LGBT person in my life or in my social group so I feel completely alone. I feel trapped and isolated from acceptance or a community. I get times when i'm really down and sad , i just sit in my room and cry and do nothing because nobody understands.

I don't know what you could say or do to help me but just writing my feelings down has released some of the crap that is overfilling my head at the moment.
    so, thankyou.

2. Kaiken

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi Katie. I'm glad you felt comfortable enough to type this online. I am sorry to hear about the small town and not knowing anyone else who might be gay. It sounds tough, but it does help to talk about it. If nothing else it helps to get some of the emotions off your chest and hopefully typing your feelings out will help a little.

3. paris

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi katieklass, welcome to EC. I can understand it's not easy for you, especially when you don't know any LGBT person in real life.
    Can you please do something for me and especially for yourself?