1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm out, but still not happy?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by confuseddolphin, May 19, 2015.

1. confuseddolphin

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Ok, so I'm new to this and I figured that this was a good place to vent/get help. If anyone has advice, or relates to me or anything else, please let me know.

About a month ago, I came out to my six closest friends. One of them being my best friend/roommate. Telling him was the hardest because he was the only guy in the group that I had to tell and I didn't know what to expect. I cried a lot when telling him everything, and it turned out to be better then I thought. I knew before that that he supported gay people and everything, but I still didn't know what to expect. He basically gave me the biggest hug and told me that everything was going to okay and that nothing was going to change between us. That made me incredibly happy.

Over time, we've been very open about things to each other. He asks me questions such as what kind of guys I am into, what I have done with one before, who I like, and things like that. I am glad that he doesn't feel uncomfortable asking me these things and he's genuinely curious. Since then, we've been closer than ever and I am super glad that I have him as a brother. I feel as though not a lot of gay guys have straight guy best friends, and so I am glad that I have that.

There were a few nights in a row where I slowly started to go back to my "closeted" self. I would cry myself to sleep again, overthink things and put myself in a bad mood, and I wasn't sure why. I figured out that it was because I was still unhappy with myself.