1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I truly gay?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by AJ56, May 27, 2015.

1. AJ56

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So I'm pretty sure that I'm gay and trying to think of which of my friends to come out to first. I've already thought of a few friends that I know are accepting of LGBT people that I can safely come out to. But here's the thing: Is relationship/dating experience necessary to determine you're truly gay? I don't want to come out only to find out I'm not really gay. It sounds silly, I know. But is this necessary? Because I have no experience with dating or relationships. But I think I'm gay because most of my sexual and romantic fantasies are about men. Plus many of the things that seem to arouse straight men (boobs, butt, etc.) don't seem to affect me all that much. Despite this, I've heard that something that arouses you mentally (fantasies) doesn't necessarily mean that you would really enjoy it in real life. I'm a virgin, so I've never even had sex before. I don't know. Just tell me your thoughts on the matter.

2. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    No.

Just like straight people, we don't need to have sex to reach a conclusion about our attractions. You may experiment and confirm it, but you don't really need to do that.
    Only you can tell what you are, but, judging by these words, it looks like you are gay.

3. Celatus

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people