1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internship/Job Hunting Woes

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by FuelsMySong, Jul 3, 2015.

1. FuelsMySong

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I go to a university in Canada and we have this thing called a co-op program which basically involves students signing up for internships/jobs (most are paid, a few are unpaid). There is no guarantee of the student securing a job, so it's not like a practicum wherein the school places you somewhere and you work there; you actually have to send in resumes and cover letters and if the employer wants you, then they hire you and if they don't, well then you don't get a placement. The program also requires you to pay a large sum of money (as if tuition and textbooks are not enough damage on the bank account).

I'm an Arts/Social Science student and I knew I wanted to do co-op before I even entered university because all the stories I heard about people being hired before they've graduated, making money while going to school, and gaining work experience in fields they are passionate about attracted me to the program. A Bachelor of Arts is something that is not very marketable in today's society so I thought that having work experience would give me some edge over other job seekers once I graduate and perhaps even secure me a job without having to pursue a Master's degree. I thought that my experience with the co-op program would be positive; that I would sign up for jobs that excite me and get hired by an employer that I would enjoy working for. However, my experience has been largely negative. I thought that co-op would help me find a job that is relevant to what i want to pursue in the future or at least a job that may not be relevant to what I want to do but will help me realize that I should be pursuing another field.