1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Money and Family Don't Mix (Help!)

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by thepandaboss, Jul 7, 2015.

1. thepandaboss

Hey. So here's my problem. I'm a college student at the moment and because I'm in college and under the age of 21, I'm receiving child support to help pay for college and my bills. This money is set to run out in just a few months but for now, it's a huge help.

The child support was initially for my brother and I. As soon as we both turned 18 and were enrolled in school, we'd receive child support. For the first two years we were supposed to benefit from the support my mother was taking the money. By the time I got in touch with a case manager and got the situation handled, my brother had long since dropped out of school and found a job in food service.

I got a lot of flack for drawing from the child support (and at the time, I had just lost my job, I was in school, and I could barely afford food or clothing despite living with another relative). I offered half to my brother, since he'd never once seen a single cent of the child support ever, and he was going back to school, and we went from there. Granted, he wouldn't have been eligible for the child support anyway- he was over the age of 21 and had been out of school for long enough that he wouldn't have been able to earn any of the money.

The arrangement worked out great for a while. I finally got a better job, moved out on my own. My income covered my rent and bills very nicely and I was able to put most of my child support money in savings. Brother got his half of the money on time.

My brother has a job, goes to school, but he doesn't pay rent and he doesn't really have any bills.