1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Sophomore Slump and Failing Exams

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by FuelsMySong, Aug 1, 2015.

1. FuelsMySong

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I am a second year university student and I started off my undergrad career with a 3.67/4.33 GPA in my first semester of my first year. To be fair, I only took 3 courses (worth 10 credits all together; one was a 4 credit course). Then, the next semester, (Year 1, Semester 2) I took more courses and my GPA stayed at 3.67/4.33. However, I became clinically depressed during that second semester for multiple reasons and my parents forced me to take a break (and prozac) instead of taking summer classes. Then, I came back to school in the fall (Year 2, Semester 1) and ended up with a semester GPA of 2.93/4.33 which brought down my overall GPA to 3.44/4.33. I was discouraged but, at this point, my depression was in remission and that was all I really cared about. To me, it was "I didn't do well this semester, seeing as I ended with a 2.93 semester GPA, but at least I don't feel like crying and killing myself everyday anymore." Then, last semester (Year 2, Semester 2), I started an unsuccessful job hunt, which involved making resumes and cover letters as well as preparing for and doing interviews, while going to school and ended up with a 2.21/4.33 semester GPA because I received a B, a B minus, and 2 C minuses for the four classes that I took which brought down my overall GPA to 3.08/4.33. I am currently doing summer classes, for the first time, right now (Year 2, Semester 3) and although the semester is not over yet, I am terrified because I am on the verge of failing one of my classes because I failed one of the exams for this course (this is the first time I've ever experienced failing an exam in university; I failed one or two exams back in high school but in university, this is the first