1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

People complaining about my mood at work

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Devil Dave, Sep 15, 2015.

1. Devil Dave

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have received a promotion at work recently, and I am very happy about it. It means more responsibility for me, which I take very seriously, and this kind of does affect my attitude in the work place. I'm still quite new to the role and I want to make sure i stay focused and get it right. However, some of my colleagues feel that I'm being uptight and a bit snappy. I haven't been nasty to anyone - I haven't told anyone off or complained about how they are doing their job, I give them space to do their work how they see fit, and I do what I can to give them support.

But now I hear that some of the colleagues are questioning my mood and asking if there's something wrong with me. Like I said, I am adjusting to my new role, so as I get used to my new routine, I might start to loosen up a bit more. But I'm not always in a lighthearted chatty mood. If it's a particularly busy day and there is a lot to get done, I do prefer to get my head down and get on with the job, and save small talk for a time when its less busy.

I have spent a big chunk of my life being criticized for being lazy, timid, indecisive and a bit of a mincer, and now I have a bit of authority, I'm making the most of my situation and I don't want to let my employers down, as they've entrusted me with this opportunity. I seem to be earning a reputation as a bit of a stuck up ogre among my colleagues and even some of the customers. Should I ignore these people's concerns and carry on as I am, or should I pay attention and try to lighten up a bit more when I'm around them?

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status: